Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

July 29, 2003 - 11:28 p.m.

The Beauty of Music

I almost can't write this entry right now. I decided that I wanted some music to write by, so instead of putting on a CD, I went to KCRW's website. I used to listen to KCRW all the time in LA. It's an NPR station, but it has the most interesting music programs. On weekday nights they have a program called Metropolis which I would always listen to when I was driving anywhere. It's mostly electronica, which many people scoff at these days, but it's smarter electronica than basic club remixes. They cheesily call it "the hypnotic pulse of modern city life" on the website, but it's amazing how just listening to a few minutes of it has put me back on the Santa Monica Freeway at 9:00 at night on a Friday night while I was driving to meet a friend at a bar for a crazy night out in LA.

There were other things I wanted to write about, I swear. Let's see what I can piece together.

This evening I went to the first meeting of the book group that I was asked to join. It was wonderful. It ended up only being four of us, but we covered the book, Empire Falls quite thoroughly. It was so exciting to have an interesting discussion with intelligent people who were all there because they wanted to be. It makes me imagine what high school or college classes would be like if everyone were passionate about classes and not intimidated by others in the class. The latter was what would often keep me from talking in school. I HATED looking stupid, so if I just melded into my chair, no one would notice anything stupid coming from me. I was still a little nervous about looking stupid in this setting, as I don't know these people that well yet, but I was also confident about what I was talking about.

The electronica is actually making more verbose than normal. Here's another thing I wanted to record.

We gave out our invitations to our party this Saturday. I wanted to make sure that I described these invitations for posterity's sake. Inga came up with this concept. I was pretty much grunt labor, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. It started with a cigarette box. We cut along the sides so that you would open the box, and a flap would open. We painted the inside a bright color then applied glitter. I wrote out the details of where and when, which got affixed to the inside of the flap. In the box itself, Inga attached two plastic critters. She had farm animals, zoo animals, dinosaurs and insects to choose from. I made little beer bottles out of clay, which she fit into the artistic layout of each invitation. Each invitation was unique, and each one had two critters from differing classes (classes in the Linnean, taxonomic sense). For example, a scorpion and a goat could go in the same box but not a scorpion and a caterpillar. (I love that I had the word "critter" in the same sentence as "Linnean".) Anyway, we got rave reviews for the invitations, which may come back to bite us in the ass. I know it will be a fun party, but we haven't thrown a party here yet, and we're probably lacking in many party essentials.

Well, I guess that's all for now. I still have lots of work to do for this party, and I either need to do some of it or go to bed. I expect the latter.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!