Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 03, 2004 - 7:51 p.m.

A True Update

I haven't really updated since before Thanksgiving. Rob and I had a nice visit to Texas, although we had to take a whole extra suitcase for my books to write several research papers. Of course, I didn't get as much done as I should have, so in the past three days, I haven't slept more than 2 hours at a stretch. Well, I'll take that back. This afternoon, after my last two papers were delivered with 10 minutes to spare, I slept for three glorious hours.

Sometime around 4:00 this morning, my throat really started hurting. After not smoking for four months, I had several cigarettes in the middle of the night due to the stress of last-minute writing. Unfortuately, I cannot blame my sore throat on the cigarettes. I now have a headache, body aches, and a mighty fatigue. Hello, illness! Come right on in and make my life hell! I don't mind!

My freshman year of college, my friend Betsy taught me how to whine. She said it helped her feel better when things were really crappy. I don't know if Rob is so thrilled with Besty right now. I've really been practicing my whining this evening. He's being a saint, though, by escaping me to pick up Chinese food for us.

So,yeah. Papers turned in yesterday and today. Major presentation on Wednesday. Two takehomes due next week, and an easy-as-pie algebra final on Friday. Then on Saturday, Rob and I leave for our major Christmas road trip. We're going to St. Louis to see his hometown haunts, Kansas City to see some friends of ours and business associates of his, and then on to Taos, NM. I have us booked in a deluxe bed and breakfast suite for two nights. I haven't seen Taos in the winter since I was five or six, so I'm absolutely thrilled to be going back. Growing up in snow-starved Dallas, the snow in Taos was just delightful. I made snow kitties on our hotel room's patio. Perhaps I'll reprise that performance this time.

After Taos, we'll briefly stop in Santa Fe to have lunch at the Shed and do some shopping on the Plaza. Then it's on towards Dallas for Christmas. I'm hoping that between Christmas and New Years, we'll get down to Austin to see my good friend from high school, Andy. Perhaps we'll see my sort-of-ex friend Blake. I haven't decided if it's worth my time. We'll be back in Savannah for New Years, and then I start another semester on January 5. Ugh. I hope I have a restful break to gear myself up for the new semester. We'll see.

That's it for now. I have to go lie down and rest my poor aching head. Damn the flu season and the vaccine shortage!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!