Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

April 17, 2005 - 8:30 p.m.

My New Toy

I got a pedometer last week in an effort to encourage me to exercise. After I quit smoking last August, I gained the predictable amount of weight. I just felt it wasn't fair to concentrate on getting rid of one addiction while eating only carrot sticks. I DESERVED dessert each day because I hadn't smoked. And also, it's true about cigarettes being an appetite suppressant. I just wanted to eat more often. So, going into bathing suit weather, I was feeling extra tubby. I'm actually down 18.5 pounds since the first of March, but I realized that I need to get my butt in gear, somewhat literally. Hence, the pedometer.

I'm now somewhat of a slave to my pedometer. I wear it all day long to count the number of steps I take. Right now, it's somewhere around 5000 a day. Ultimately, it should be up around 13000 a day. I've found that when I talk on the phone, I just go outside and walk around the yard to increase my daily number of steps. This is an odd time to be starting this, as I barely have time to bathe, let alone take a walk, but it provides nice respites from my work.

I heart my pedometer!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!