Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May 12, 2005 - 5:04 p.m.

Another Semester Down

I turned in my last paper on Tuesday. My freedom from school is short-lived, as I start summer school on June 1. I am going to California for a few days tomorrow to visit friends. It will be fun. I'm trying to get my office in some order before I leave. It's a very slow go. I'm spending more time clearing out old email and checking things like when the next major maintenance is on my car.

Ooh, here's something gross. A few days ago, I took a bath, and I could tell there was something going on with the ear wax in my right ear. I foolishly tried a q-tip to get it out (what they say you should never do), and I pushed it all further in. After not being able to hear out of one ear for a day, I made a run to a pharmacy for an ear-wax removal kit. It wasn't working well enough, and I was getting frustrated.

Then I remembered the benefit of being a student. $10 health clinic visits! I went in this afternoon, and the nurse practitioner confirmed that my ear was totally blocked with wax. I didn't realize how much wax can be in an ear. She used a blue stick to scrape some of it out, which seemed like a lot to me. Then she flushed out my ear. A hunk of wax the size of a peanut in its shell came out of my ear. It absolutely shocked me. Rob said, "Well, when you say your ear is blocked, you're not kidding!" Now I wonder if my occasional hearing problems might be caused by wax buildup!

Okay, that's kind of a gross story. It was a revelation to me,though. My father warned me that I might have earwax problems as I age. Yay for genetics.

I'm just procrastinating now. I'm sure I have a ton of more important stuff to write about, but that's all for now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!