Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May 17, 2005 - 12:21 a.m.

A Weekend of Nostalgia

I've been back in California this weekend. I got to see Inga, the old roommate, and other good college friends. I also surprisingly got to see a bunch of random folks from my California past at this year's graduation on Sunday.

Mixed feelings about the whole thing. I realized that I'm horribly embarrassed about the fact that I couldn't cut it at Pomona. The reason that I've told myself for leaving is that I didn't like the program. That's true. Part of the problem was that the program was too hard for me. That part I don't like to admit. I was a National Merit Finalist in high school, graduated in the top 2% of my class, and graduated in 3 years while pursuing the cello. At Pomona, I gave up the cello and took up drinking, gained a significant amount of weight, never managed to have a successful romantic relationship beyond the occasional hookup, and basically flunked out of school. They would have let me come back, but who knows if I could have ever gotten my grade point up to the level necessary to graduate.

On the other hand, I just found out today that I managed to pull off a 4.0 for this past semester. If I keep that up, I'll graduate cum laude from a much easier state school. For the three years that I'm at this state school, I'm spending less than one year at Pomona. I've met a wonderful man, I have two wonderful cats, and life is good. I just need to get over myself. So I fucked up in California. I'm not there anymore, and this time next year, I'll finally be done with my BA. Then it's on to bigger and better things.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!