Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

June 06, 2005 - 8:59 a.m.

Things I Hate

When I was pretty down-in-the-dumps a few years ago, a friend of mine said that she made a list of things that made her happy. I did it, too, and it helped. Perhaps it says something about how I�m changing as I age, but I think it�s high time I do a list of things I absolutely hate. If I get it down in writing, it might make me feel better about them.

1. Liquid salad greens
This is the condition when a bag of salad greens sits around a little too long and turns from nice crunchy lettuce to slimy goo. Often, this is my fault for leaving the salad in the fridge too long. My greatest pet peeve (in this particular category, at least) is when this happens the day after I get the salad home from the store.

2. The smell of horse piss
This is a geographical problem. Horse piss in general does not bother me. Horse piss, wafting on a hot summer breeze in Historic Downtown Savannah, really makes my blood boil. Since SAV is an historic town, people like horse-drawn carriage tours of the place. The poop catchers don�t do a good-enough job, I guess, because there are certain intersections where, in the heat of summer, one would guess she was in a stable. This is not a positive for tourism, in my opinion, and it really pisses me off (pun intended). My friends are sick and tired of hearing me complain about this, but that's just too bad.

3. Daylight Savings
I know I�ve ranted about this somewhere else in my diary, but I REALLY hate the spring time change. Believe me, as I write this, I�m feeling the effects of the spring time change. It�s supposed to be noon right now. Noon means I have the whole afternoon left to get stuff done. Instead, SOMEONE decided that I should lose an hour, during probably the busiest part of my semester. Grrr.

4. Tailgaters
These people scare me. I know that if they hit me, it would be their fault. This isn�t that reassuring. I don�t want the hassle of a car accident or, even more so, the risk of injury. My father uses a great annoyance technique on persistent tailgaters. It works best because he�s got a diesel car. After a person has been tailgating a while, he starts to slow down, very incrementally. He�ll drop his speed 5-7 mph, usually pissing the person off. The idea is to force them to go around him, thereby getting off his ass. If this doesn�t work, and the person insists on staying there, he floors it. In a diesel vehicle, this leaves the tailgater in a cloud of black smoke. He makes no gestures, as these days you don�t know what could get you shot. It�s very satisfying to him, though. I�ve considered getting a diesel just to have the same sense of satisfaction!


I wrote this a while ago (as the time change section indicates), and I just found it when I was cleaning off the desktop of my computer. It's never a good idea to waste an entry full of hateful things, so here you go! There are more things I hate. I just don't have any time this morning to write about them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!