Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 29, 2005 - 11:59 a.m.

Katrina

All the coverage of Hurricane Katrina is really getting to me. Rob and I were in New Orleans two months ago, and I get really emotional when I think about what those people are going through. The news about part of the Superdome roof tearing off terrified me. I never think about the fact that some people rely solely on public transportation. There is no public transportation in a hurricane evacuation.

It doesn't help that my cousin lives in New Orleans and several friends' families stretch from Baton Rouge to Mobile. There are only so many shots of the roof coming off a Biloxi Comfort Inn that I can handle. I'm impressed that the news networks are able to bring us any shots like that, but I'm impatient for the storm to be over and see what the true toll is. Oh, and surfing the news stations has brought up a few amusing moments. My favorite was the anchor who insisted on pronounding Biloxi as "Bye-lox-ee" as in bagels with lox. Yankee.

I realized that being a homeowner is making this storm affect me more. But for the whims of the weather, Savannah could be facing that storm. Thank goodness for insurance, I suppose. Last night we had some friends over, and we were talking about what we would take with us in the event of an evacuation. Some considered photos, others irreplacable LPs. Animals were always foremost. Some would take their computers (I'm in that camp) and others would leave their "piece of shit computers" to float away. Musical instruments also came up. And papers. All those really important papers like tax returns, titles, deeds, birth certificates, insurance policies that you might need to refer to in case of an emergency... All those papers that still don't have a central location in my office. Now I know how I'm going to spend my Labor Day weekend.

Stay dry and safe, everyone in the face of this storm.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!