Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 30, 2005 - 11:38 p.m.

Tears Well Up

If I think too much about what the Gulf communities are going through in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, I start crying. There's going to be a point when the death tolls have stopped rising that I will have a big sobbing cry for all those affected by this hurricane.

Fortunately, my family members are safe, and one friend's family in Biloxi is safe, although his childhood home has extensive damage. I wrote last time about how being a homeowner has made this more significant to me. What I've realized is that, as lovely as my new house is, it's not important. My New Orleans cousin was planning on riding out the storm until her father convinced her otherwise. There is no amount of inconvenience or home damage that can compare to losing one's life. The next time a hurricane even looks in Savannah's direction, I'll be figuring out the fastest way to higher ground.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!