Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 17, 2005 - 11:13 a.m.

Homegrown Tomatoes

I don't think I've mentioned my summer project, growing plum and grape tomatoes. I got a contraption called an Earthbox last spring and started growing tomatoes sometime last June. The plants have grown remarkably big. I don't think they enjoyed traveling at 26 miles an hour when Rob brought them from the rental house to the new house. There was no way they would fit into an enclosed vehicle, so they made the trip in the back of Rob's little trailer.

Once they arrived here at the new house, tomato fruitworms attacked my plum tomatoes. Fortunately, I waged chemical warfare and saved the plant. Over the past few weeks, I've enjoyed probably a dozen plum tomatoes and a few grape tomatoes. With our warm temperatures, I'm hopeful that I'll keep harvesting.

This is the first time that I've tried growing vegetables on my own. I remember helping my mother grow strawberries and tomatoes in my childhood. It's been an interesting process. I'm pretty sure I've been bitten by the gardening bug. I can't wait to try something else next summer. I also love the convenience of the Earthbox. I truly only have to water it and make sure no pests have attacked the plants.

The new house also has some rose bushes. I spent a while looking into how to care for them. That could also become an obsession if I'm not careful.

The problem with getting involved in the yard is that even when I don't feel like dealing with it, I still have to deal with it. Right now, I need to go weed some beds, replace some mulch, and clear out some branches. It's hot today. I'd much rather sit inside and write about how much I'm enjoying my garden than actually get outside and do something about it.

However, I think a tomato salad might just be calling my name.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!