Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 08, 2005 - 11:54 a.m.

A Blah Birthday

We had our housewarming/joint birthday party last Saturday. I spent the whole evening drinking ginger ale because I had picked up a case of food poisoning on Friday, my birthday proper. What had started out as a nice day dissolved into vomit, which is never a good way to spend a birthday.

On Friday, Rob and I went to lunch at a Thai restaurant then to the Junior League thrift sale. We got some interesting trinkets, spent some time downtown, had tea and cake at a tearoom, then went grocery shopping at our new Fresh Market and Publix in preparation for the party the next day. I never got a chance to enjoy my dinner that night because I started feeling pretty crappy once we got home. It was about 24 hours of ickiness.

Fortunately, we didn't cancel the party. It was unusual to be totally sober while everyone else was drinking, but it was an entertaining way to spend the evening. Lots of nice people came, and I had a very good time.

One person, a friend of a friend, brought us the neatest housewarming gift. The gift itself was just a bottle of Bacardi Citron, but the presentation was stunning. He's a chef, so it was no big stretch for him to freeze the bottle in a block of ice, lemon slices and bay leaves. As the evening progressed, the ice melted and the lemon slices fell into the dish the bottle sat in. A truly inspired approach, one which I plan on copying when I get the chance.

I wish I hadn't felt crappy, but all in all, it was a decent birthday. 27 isn't a particularly exciting birthday anyway.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!