Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 19, 2005 - 12:38 p.m.

Danger by the Fireplace

Herman Melville, in his novel Moby Dick, describes the whale-line, which goes around the whale boat and can take off a man's head or arm if something goes wrong. He then goes on to write:

"All men live enveloped in whale-lines. All are born with halters round their necks; but it is only when caught in the swift, sudden turn of death, that mortals realize the silent, subtle, ever-present perils of life. And if you be a philosopher, though seated in the whale-boat, you would not at heart feel one whit more of terror, than though seated before your evening fire with a poker, and not a harpoon, by your side."

Basically, there is danger wherever we are, be it on an inherently dangerous whale-boat or in the comfort of our homes, relaxing by the fire.

This has become all too true for my old roommate Inga. My grasp of the facts is sketchy, but from what I understand, she was riding her bike, and some dumbass opened his car door, causing her to have a pretty serious accident. She's in the hospital with pelvic and rotator cuff damage. When life is looking up, Fate swoops in and knocks you on your ass.

I really hope that she starts feeling better fast. Rob's first instinct was to look into flights to Madison so we could visit her. I think I will try to visit, just at some point where I can be helpful rather than one more face in the narcotic haze she's likely in. She's having surgery on her shoulder today and will have to be in a pelvic brace for at least 3 months.

I feel helpless so far away. I sent balloons, which will keep her entertained for about 10 seconds. Now I need to come up with ideas on how to help her stay entertained one-handed.

Be safe, everyone, in this unpredictable world.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!