Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 01, 2005 - 9:26 p.m.

Vindication!, then a Pause

The pencils were a hit on Halloween, I'm proud to say. I went to Target this morning to pick up some half-price packs of pencils, which I stuck in a drawer for next year. I was a little afraid that the kids wouldn't care much for my hip Target pencils, but fortunately, I was wrong.

I saw some really cute kids last night. There was the Superman who had only been walking a short amount of time. (Since he was basically pre-verbal, I just gave him chocolate.) There was the passel of kids from next door who had tried to trick-or-treat sans costumes on Sunday night. I invited them back on Monday, and they showed up last night with very cute costumes on. There was a really cute little pirate who kept saying, "You're a bunny!" I guess my homemade mouse ears looked like bunny ears to him. I think my favorite was the little girl who lingered in the doorway after her friends had run back to the street to give me a hug. She hadn't said a word the whole time. Perhaps that was her way of saying thank-you.

There was something a little sad about how many kids said, "Cool, I need school supplies!" when I gave them the pencil. I never lacked pencils when I was young. I never lacked any school supplies. If I wanted a new box of crayons, it wasn't immediately granted, but I could probably make my case for it. I wonder how many of those kids didn't have money for pencils, let alone a new box of crayons. I wonder if there's a way that I can help local kids more than just giving them a pencil at Halloween.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!