Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 04, 2005 - 7:49 a.m.

Thanksgiving is Looming

For the first time in years, I don't know what I'm doing for Thanksgiving. This is freaking me out. We're not going to Texas to be with the family for a variety of reasons, and as Thanksgiving approaches, I'm becoming less comfortable with the decision. I'm REALLY not eager to spend Thanksgiving with a weird family of strangers. I don't really want to just spend it with Rob, although that wouldn't be terrible. My concern about that is we would end up doing nothing. Thanksgiving is special, a time for family. I have no family in Georgia, so I really keep wondering why I'm staying here.

The only time I wasn't with oodles of family for Thanksgiving was when I was in Spain. Even then, my other American friend and I treated ourselves to dinner at a really nice restaurant in Granada. We chose the only poultry item on the menu and drank lots of wine in celebration. Our waiter kept bringing us complimentary liqueur after dinner, so we were rather happy by the time we rolled out of there. I guess if I can make the best of Thanksgiving in a foreign country, I can pull something together here.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!