Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 26, 2005 - 8:45 a.m.

It's the Christmas Season!

When Inga's and my first Christmas in Georgia rolled around three years ago, I had to warn her that I could be a Christmas Nazi. I'm not religious, but I love Christmas as a time to get together with family, celebrate friendships, and put up pretty decorations. Many years I've worked to exhaustion to put together big meals, plan parties, or wrap all the gifts. As I grow up, however, I'm letting some of the trimmings of the holiday season go while focusing on what matters.

Since I met Rob, we spend most of the holiday season on a road trip (since I still can afford the time for that as a student!) It didn't make sense to buy a fresh Christmas tree for just a few weeks. So, I got the 3 foot artificial tree two years ago. I must admit, it's nice to know that later on today, I can reach into a box and pull out a tree already strung with lights, unbend a few branches, and load up the ornaments. I get my dose of Christmas decorations without going overboard.

This year with my family, I decided no gifts. I've done well with gifts in years that I've been able to plan and shop ahead. I've had no time this fall to even fathom shopping, let alone a ton of disposable income due to the new house purchase. Instead, I've announced to everyone that we're going to have a family outing while we're all home. I've put together a few itineraries from which we can choose while gathered around the Christmas tree as usual. I'm going to make sure we invite the extended family over one night for jambalaya. Whatever we cook will not be very involved or time-consuming. We need to enjoy each other's company, not stress over a turkey that won't cook.

So here's to a reduced-stress holiday season! May you all breeze through it without getting trampled at Walmart or victimized by thieves at the mall.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!