Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

March 04, 2006 - 2:54 p.m.

Women's Studies Conference

I just finished attending a 3 day women's studies conference, put on by one of my favorite professors. I got to hear a number of amazing women speak about a range of topics, but it all came back to understanding our history as women and being able to carry forth what those before us have accomplished. It's an amazing sense of responsibility that I do not know what to do with. I'm overwhelmed by what I heard and who I heard, and it's definitely going to take some time to process.

I think one of my problems is that I haven't taken any women's studies classes. I did take literature by women, which was a fabulous class and touched on a lot of issues that I now feel the need to educate myself. I don't know where to begin with my reading, though. I think, since this is my last semester at Armstrong, that I will just approach all the professors who teach women's studies classes and ask what books they recommend. I'm feeling that last-semester regret of all the classes I did not take during my time back at college. I need to look forward, though, and carry what I've learned beyond academia. How is still a mystery to me, though.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!