Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

February 05, 2007 - 9:43 p.m.

Why You Should Never Believe a Contractor About Time

When we began the pool reconstruction back on November 14, we understood that it would take three to four weeks. Here we are, going on three months later, and the pool still isn't done. It's awfully close, but it's still a fancy hole in the ground instead of a wonderful water-filled place of relaxation and fun. Okay, it has rained. Okay, we asked for a bit more work to be done. But triple the original estimate? That seems a little excessive!

Right now there's a "mud hog" pumping the ground water out from under the pool so that several repairs can be made in our lovely new marcite. Rusty trails of water have marred the fresh, white surface, leaking into the pool from our high water table in coastal Georgia. So, to ensure that our pool water does not begin to leak out of those same spots, they must repair before we can begin to fill the pool.

I have wished at times that our contractor's nose grew like Pinocchio's so I could tell when he was making predictions out of his ass. Perhaps the three-month mark next week will also mark the end of the project. I'm not holding my breath anymore, but I would really love for this to be done. Only then can I start working on getting grass back in our yard, reseating the brick patio, adding a brick facade to our retaining wall, deciding what plants to put in planters on the deck... all these things I want to do but cannot begin until the pool is totally finished.

AARGH!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!