Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 31, 2007 - 8:14 p.m.

Halloween Tricks and Treats

This year, Rob decided we should be generous with our trick-or-treaters and hand out full-size candy bars. I had mixed feelings about it, but I think they ended up being hits. What has surprised me is how our non-candy offerings have gone over.

I enjoy Halloween quite a bit. I like being able to give things out to kids and see their cute costumes. One group of trick-or-treaters left me bewildered. First of all, one little girl was trying to get into our house. She actually tried to push her way into our house! She was little, so I'll forgive her that. When I tried to give her some candy and some Halloween crayons, she refused the crayons! Her older sister refused the pencil I gave her! If it wasn't candy, these kids weren't going to stand for it. As it was, their refusal of my cute Halloween pencils and cool crayon packs meant no big candy bars for them! I sent them on their way with only Smarties. I was just dumbfounded that kids would have the gall to refuse something I was giving them. After that group, I stated, "Maybe next year, we won't have any candy!"

Fortunately for the kids of our neighborhood, my delight with the trick-or-treating tradition was restored a few doorbell rings later. A wee little girl pirate and her father were at our door. When I gave the little pirate her pencil, she said "A pen!" in an excited voice. As she went back to where her mother was waiting, she exclaimed, "Look, I got a pen!" She didn't even give two flips to the big candy bar that was sitting in her bag.

Last year we had some kids really excited about their pencils, so I'll continue to give them out. If candy makes its appearance next year somewhat depends on how serious I am about losing weight for an impending wedding! So until then, I'll ponder the ingratitude of some children and the wonderment of others.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!