Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 21, 2004 - 10:31 p.m.

Something More Entertaining for a Change

I've been doing a lot of complaining in this space recently, because that's about all I can muster. Here are some random things other than my stress that I've been thinking about.

1. Johnny Isakson, a Republican candidate for US Senate from the lovely, forward-thinking state of Georgia, has a new campaign ad running seemingly 24-7 these days. In it, he says that "Anything in the hands of evil is a weapon of mass destruction." I keep thinking about how little, tiny baby bunnies could be weapons of MASS destruction. It's just an assinine statement, but it creates a funny picture, worthy of some time with Photoshop.

2. NPR fund raising drives are a mixture of some of the best stories (like Fresh Air with David Sedaris on today, for example) and an aural stake of guilt being slowly shoved into my ear every time I turn on the radio. And I'm a contributor to TWO different NPR stations! It still makes me feel guilty, though.

3. I really can't wait until the elections are over. 11 days before the election! I've been mighty tempted to confuse our neighbors by putting both Bush and Kerry signs in the yard (I'm voting for Kerry and Rob for Bush), but I doubt our neighbors would even notice.

4. As Halloween approaches, I get pretty jumpy. Last night, from about 5:30 to 8:00, the electricity was off in our house. After the sun set, I looked out my office window to utter blackness. My imagination started running away from me, and suddenly I was seeing werewolves racing around outside. Then one of the cats started scraping around in the litterbox, and I nearly jumped out of my skin. I can't even watch trailers from scary movies these days.

5. I just saw footage of Fidel Castro falling off stage after a speech. He apparently broke his knee and arm. The speech was in a mausoleum. I wonder if the late-night comedians will have fun with this. I, unfortunately, can't come up with anything funny, so I'm going to bed.

Good night, all!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!