Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 21, 2005 - 9:30 a.m.

Howdy from Austin!

We're in the middle of our Christmas road trip. We went to New Orleans, an experience that deserves its own entry when I have a moment. Then I got to spend 5 days in San Antonio while Rob worked. Riverwalk, shopping, eating... lots of fun things to do in San Antonio. Then it was down to the Rio Grande Valley to visit Rob's stepdad. It turned out to be a really good visit, despite my misgivings. Two years ago, we didn't have a completely positive experience. This time, despite two foster kids in the house, an air mattress that was less than comfortable, and a room without a door on it, we had a nice visit. We also went across the border and did some shopping in Mexico. Woo hoo! Cheap prescription drugs! (for our cats).

Now we're stopping in Austin so I can educate Rob in Texas history. Then it's up to Waco for the Texas Ranger Museum, West for kolaches, and finally Dallas for about a week for Christmas festivities. My stepsister Lindsey is supposed to arrive tonight, but she may be foiled by the transit strike in NYC. Soon, though, the whole clan will be back and crazy as ever.

Have a merry Christmas, everyone!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!