Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 11, 2004 - 7:34 p.m.

December 2003 Catch-up

I haven't written much at all, as I've already commented on, so I thought I'd try to catch up on what's happened.

Rob and I took a road trip in December, starting at his friends' farm in Florida for about a week. We had a great time at Universal Studios one day, and the rest of it was spent relaxing for the most part. We went through New Orleans and he got to meet one of my best friends and her husband, a feat since they live in France and happened to be going through New Orleans that day.

We went on to Dallas, where I promptly got really sick. I was on a tincture of opium or some such stuff to get rid of massive intestinal problems. It was some morphine derivative, whose side effects included both euphoria and dysphoria. I experienced both, sometimes within minutes of each other. Christmas was thus altered a bit for me, but it turned out okay.

New Years could have been better. We went down to Rob's stepfather's house in South Texas. I felt like I was a little kid in the mean uncle's house or something like that. I wasn't comfortable, and there weren't too many efforts made to make me feel comfortable. I'll be reluctant to repeat that experience, but it's Rob's closest family member, so I'm going to have to deal with it again.

We drove back to Savannah in one fell swoop, taking turns sleeping in the back of the Blazer. I got to see the sun rise over the Florida panhandle. Then it was back to the grind of school.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!