Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 12, 2004 - 8:30 p.m.

It's Raining, It's Pouring, but There's No Old Man Snoring

The boyfriend is out of town, and I'm weathering the remnants of Bonnie. Hell, there goes the weather radio. Let's see what's about to befall the county. Ah, the second tornado warning of the evening. Fortunately, the really bad storms are east of here, and the cats and I are just experiencing rain and some minimal lightning. I'm not complaining. This house doesn't really have a good place to take cover from a tornado, so I'd rather not deal with that tonight.

I mentioned the cats, and they're a new addition to the household. At the end of April, Rob and I really wanted to get cats. For a long time, I wanted to get a pair of older cats because I just didn't want to deal with kittens. Rob really wanted playful cats, though. Let me tell you, the Humane Society is really not the best place to determine a cat's personality. Often they're all sharing a respiratory infection, so they're snot-nosed and lethargic.

In order to ensure playful cats, we got two kittens from the same litter. We didn't give it much thought, really. In the future, I might adopt from a foster care situation instead to avoid the respiratory infection. Our two tiny kittens were very expensive for the first three months. And let me tell you, it's a pain in the ass to give antibiotic drops to a kitten three times a day. Oh, and that's not to mention the eye ointment to deal with their conjunctivitis.

After all the early trials, they are now two very playful 6 month old kittens. The female is Bella White Paw and the male is Buster Grey Paw, and they're adorable. Although when they decide to use my head as a launching pad for their frenetic chases around the bedroom, I'm less than thrilled with them. It's good to have cats again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!