Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 08, 2004 - 5:28 p.m.

The Weekly Update

As the semester starts putting more demands on me, my ability to find the energy to update here wanes. In the next two weeks, I have 1 exam, 2 major papers, 5 minor assignments, and hours of reading to complete. And I've just been wasting my afternoon watching TV. Decompression, I call it, but it's just a denial of what's to come, I'm afraid.

We had our big weekend go off without much of a hitch. Our two fathers really liked each other. We had a wonderful meal, the two families, on Friday night, and then the party was pretty much a success. I qualify that because I feel like I embarrassed myself at the end of the night. A few too many glasses of wine, and my memory was shot. Drinker's remorse, you might call it. I drink so rarely now that I don't realize that I cannot drink like I used to. I wish Rob hadn't told me about any of what I can't remember. If I hadn't known anything, then I wouldn't have anything to be embarrassed about. I wish Inga had been there. I could always get silly drunk in front of her and not worry about it. But alas, she was slaving away at graduate school in Wisconsin.

I had wanted to go out of town next weekend, but my plans have been dashed by an exam being moved. Although I just had a weekend off, I feel like I need another. I should just slog through it. I've reached the halfway point of the semester. Unfortunately, the latter half is the more difficult, but I will prevail, even if it kills me.

Okay, I'm off to do some research on graduate school. Happy weekend, all!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!