Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 04, 2004 - 12:27 a.m.

Sleepy, but I'll write anyway

Despite the crushing blow to my sense of wellbeing that the outcome of the election has dealt me, it's been a pretty good week. That seems oxymoronic, I know, but it's true.

I'm doing quite well in my classes. I have the hurdle of three major research papers to conquer, but I've been doing a lot of research on those, so hopefully I'll be successful. I'm a lot more confident than I have been, at least.

I have been asked to become a staff member for the university's literary magazine by a girl who I have always admired from my English classes. That was a nice ego stroke. Even though I complain about time now, I think I'm going to do it. It will look very good on grad school applications, and the time commitment isn't excessive. It's a matter of balancing what I get out of it to what I put into it, and I believe it's worth it.

Our beloved Buster is doing well. I'm starting to doubt the competence of our vet, however. Talking to a few people makes me think that he did not handle these biopsies well. Rob described the staples used to hold the incisions together as "cardboard box staples holding two sheets of typing paper together". Visually, it just looked wrong. He also gave us bad directions post-biopsy. Three and a half hours after I brought Buster home from the vet on Friday night, I had to take him to the emergency vet to have the staples replaced. It's very hard to reason with a cat that he shouldn't run around or lick at his staples because it's better for him in the long run. Our vet's idea was that it's rare for animals to pull out staples. The opinion of the ER vet? Buster needed a collar to prevent even the possibility of him pulling staples out. So Buster got a lovely soft blue collar, just in time to be the clown cat for Halloween. He fought it viciously at first but has now accepted it. $93 for the ER vet visit, and I'm thinking about finding a new vet. I followed his directions explicitly, yet the staples didn't hold more than a day. Something's not right about that.

I've got to get myself into bed now. After staying up way to late last night to watch inconclusive/depressing election results (except for John Barrow in Georgia's 12th Congressional District - yay!), I need my beauty sleep tonight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!