Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 04, 2005 - 5:26 p.m.

A Taste of France

I have decided that life without good French bread is stupid. On occasion, I go by the Back in the Day Bakery in Savannah to pick up a batard or a boule. Today, I went for a sandwich.

This was not just any sandwich. It was France between two pieces of French bread. The Jambon, Beurre et Fromage (ham, butter and cheese) took me back to the streets of Paris. I topped it off with an Orangina. If it hadn't been for the Spanish moss hanging from the trees, I might have convinced myself I was in France, not Savannah.

Mmm, I wish I could have another one right now! Unfortunately, they only serve them around lunch. I'm going to have to plan my days carefully to put me near there around lunch!


In house news, things are still somewhat up in the air. The second appraisal came back at a good level. At the last minute, the underwriter decided he needed confirmation of our rental history from our jackass landlord. I just called the mortgage company and sure enough, our landlord hadn't called them, even though there was a message waiting for him. I sure as hell hope he doesn't screw us up with this. To be so close and have this one unpredictable hurdle is excruciating!

I'm trying to think positively, though, and tend to my packing. Or dream of jambon, beurre and fromage sandwiches. That helps my mood!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!