Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 01, 2006 - 7:17 p.m.

Long Absence, Lots of Not Much

Well, the biggest event in my silence has been the start of my MLIS journey. That's Masters in Library and Information Science for those unfamiliar with LIS (library and information science) lingo. I've been bombarded with acronyms. I think librarians like them almost as much as the military. Back when I started this diary, I was just a librarian wanna-be. Little did I know that when I chose "Libraryland", I had chosen the moniker of a now-defunct library resources page. This certainly won't be a library resources page, but perhaps I'll be able to write more about my library studies!

I've joined a slew of professional organizations, so now I get emails from the ALA, SLA, LISSA and soon SGA (hopefully). Lots more to read, now that I have even less time. I'm taking 4 classes, even though 3 classes is considered full time in graduate school. Right now, I'm supposed to be reading. I'm always supposed to be reading, but it was tough in September. We started the month with a wonderful short trip to Monterey, California to visit my cousin. I've thought back on that trip fondly over the month when things got a little crazy. There was one day when I spent 16 1/2 hours at my computer working on an assignment. I went for a massage later that week, and the massage therapist commented that "I hold a lot of stuff in my shoulders." Lots of work to be done on my trapezius muscles, apparently!

Then yesterday was my birthday. It was a decent birthday, but both Rob and I felt somewhat unfulfilled by the day (Rob's birthday falls on Wednesday, so we celebrate together). Today we've been really lazy, which has been nice. He has to go off to Atlanta for a show tomorrow, so it was good to spend some time together, doing what we enjoy best - watching bad weekend TV! I guess that's what happens once you turn 28 - you get rather boring.

So, that's a not-very-comprehensive tale of what's happened in the past few months. I've totally left out my summer travels, which are actually worth writing about. Perhaps next entry I'll cover that. No more for now, though.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!