Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-16 - 6:50 p.m.

It's been a nice, quiet weekend. It's the big holiday weekend in this city of mine, and my poor roommate has had to work every night, selling food to a bunch of drunk frat boys. Everybody has told me that I need to see what the festivities are like, but I really don't want to. I'll feel stupid for missing all of it, I suppose. In a little while, I'll schlep myself to downtown and hide out in the restaurant, drinking.

My rooommate apparently bought us a couch while I was working at the library. Any moment now, they will be delivering it. We seem to be going with the 70's velour fashion for our living room furniture. Since we can't afford anything nice, why not make it as sleazy as possible?

I've been doing a lot of cooking recently, which is great. I've been wanting to throw a dinner party, as we're finally acquiring enough friends to make that possible. However, we have no chairs for our dining room table, and it's currently covered with plants instead of usable as an eating surface. Perhaps a cocktail party is more feasible, since we'll be able to seat a whopping 7 people soon. (Two would be seated in our camping chairs, but it's better than boxes.)

I love throwing cocktail parties. I managed to start a tradition in California of Christmas parties the weekend before finals. I would spend weeks planning it, several days cooking, and a few hours of utter panic before everyone arrived. It was my attempt at sophistication in a social environment driven by kegs of Icehouse or Red Dog. The last party I threw, Christmas 2001, was the most ambitious. I had the use of our big house, the Compound, so that allowed the guest list to be somewhere around 50, with expectations that others would appear. I cooked a table full of food, with the help of my friends Blake and Desiree, but the crowning achievement that night was probably the eggnog. It was a recipe from Southern Living that was superb. It was incredibly time consuming, which made my friends even more impressed.

What made the night even better is Desiree convinced her friends in a local band, Rex Holmes , to play in our living room. We had lots of food, wine, egg nog, live music, and good friends. It will be a while before I can top that evening.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!