Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 30, 2005 - 5:57 a.m.

I Hate the Telephone

Normally I don't hate the telephone. What better way to keep in touch with people who live thousands of miles away with a more personal feel than email? However, when the phone rings at 5:30 am on my favorite day of the year, I'm less than charitable towards the phone.

I love today because I gain an hour! I have railed against the spring time change before. I don't know if I've ever properly praised this wonderful day when we get the hour back. For most of the week, I'll delight that I have an hour more to do things than my body realizes. And on Sunday morning after the time change, I should be able to sleep to my heart's content then wake up to find it an hour earlier than it "should be". Woo hoo!

Instead, I've been up since 5:30 EST (6:30 EDT) because someone from Texarkana, Arkansas called our house. It may have been the business line, which has an 800 number attached to it. I was too groggy to effectively document which ring I heard. Also, they only let it ring twice before they a)realized the errors of their ways or b)decided that they had let it ring sufficiently to wake up the inhabitants of the house they randomly called. I don't think I've pissed anyone off at the EZ Mart in Texarkana (hallelujah for Caller ID), so I'm betting on a wrong number. Who was the errant dialer trying to call at 4:30 CST? I will never know, but I'm certainly awake enough to ponder it. Grrr.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!